Feedback and evaluation are necessary aspects of school and work, but many people dislike being evaluated. What are the causes of this problem?

How could it be solved?

It is undeniable that for children to reach their full potential at school requires regular assessment from teachers. However, many would argue that this might not be suitable to apply to all. In this essay, I will look into the main causes of this before suggesting my solution.

One of the main reasons why pupils dislike being evaluated at school might be the inappropriate approach of teachers. In many schools nowadays, the way teachers give feedback is usually one-way communication which does not allow children to explain themself. Additionally, some educators might comment on the student performance out loud in the class which causes the child to feel like they are being publicly humiliated.

Henceforth, to tackle this problem, I believe that it is important for schools to privately discuss with each student on their performance. More importantly, rather than criticising the student, teachers should point out why he/she is having, for example, a poor GPA and give them a pathway and guidance so that pupils can improve their performance themselves. As a result, not only will the students' performance be improved but also the fear of being evaluated among many people will be decreased.

In conclusion, I strongly argue that receiving feedback is one of the most important factors that helps individuals to be better at work because getting comments on their works can sometimes give people a sense of being recognised. In doing so, we can easily motivate them to reach their full potential. On the other hand, it is also important to be careful with the way you evaluate others as some person might consider it as criticism, which will lead to a negative effect.