Feedback and evaluation are necessary aspects of school and work, but many people dislike being evaluated. What are the causes of this problem?

How could it be solved?

These days, feedback and evaluation are based to improve most of the work of anything. Despite the importance of those in everything such as school or work, many people don’t like being evaluated. In this essay, I will explain the causes of this problem and the way to solve it.

Let’s start by looking at the reason of why people hate being rated. The main reason is the feelings going with the comments. As we can see, most of the time people complain about each other, they often talk in a furious way and sometimes, they will take it personally. This makes the evaluated one become so angry that they will not care about their mistakes but the emotions of the comment. Take schools’ feedback for example. Being judged by the teachers, the students often feel like they are disrespected, and should they not act well at school, the bad marks will make them give up everything. The reason of this is good students get better by teachers’ good compliment, while others keeps falling apart because of the feedback they are given.

So how can this problem be solved? In my opinion, the best way to tackle this problem is trying to give personal opinion that will not hurt others. What I mean is that givers should put the listeners’ emotion on everything so that the evaluated one will be able to understand the problem easily without any resistance. Because people may listen more carefully when they are calm and chilled, talking to others with a friendly voice will make everything better. For example, instead of yelling at workers, bosses can try to explain to them their mistake without blaming them. Were everyone able to do that, feedback and evaluation would not be disliked anymore.

In conclusion, the main cause of the hate of feedback and evaluation is the emotion with them, and the best way to solve the problem is giving feedback in a friendly way.On the other hand, it is also important to be careful with the way you evaluate others as some person might consider it as criticism, which will lead to a negative effect.