The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Leadership is not an easy task, and it is not anyone can become a good leader. One main quality a good leader must have is the ability to balance between doing what he believes is best for society, and what the people whom he leads think should be done. This balance is at the core of the debate between those who believe a leader must recieve constant feedback from his people, allowing him to accomodate their needs, and those who think such feedback would just confuse a leader from doing what is right for his people. I believe that a true leader must be capable of gaining insights from his people, and thus must be open to feedback, since doing what is best from them is his main task, and due to my belief that without being open to such feedback, a leader might fimd himself unwanted by the people.

It is true that a leader, especially one who is elected democraticlly, usually becomes a leader only after proving he knows what his people want and has a plan regarding how to achieve their needs. Nevertheless, no leader can ever be able to know exactly how these needs change during the course of his leadership. Since I believe the essence of leadership is promoting the will of the people, I think that without such knowledge, a leader will be less effective in his job. Therefore, feedback from his people is highly important since it allows him to understand their needs throughout his tenure as leader, and thus be able to implement the reforms needed to best address those needs.

In addition, leadership is only effective when the people led have true belief and trust in him who leads them. Without such support and trust, a leader will very rarly be able to promote the reforms he plans, gain the resources he needs for them and even be able to keep his people safe from outburst of anger and eventual dismay. One way to gain such support from the people is to give them the feeling that they are participating in crucial decision making and are heard as part of the leaders deliberations. Due to that, I think that even the best leader must, from time to time, listen to his people, and recieve their feedback in order to give them the feeling of participation in decision making, since that feeling will make them more supportive of his leadership.

Of course feedback might also hurt the leaders ability to lead. Many believe that constant feedback might confuse a leader as to what is best for his people and might also make him consider promoting reforms only to weaken opposition and bad feedback rather than because they are actually positive policies. Thus, too much feedback, say many, might result in the leader promoting a populist agenda. While this is a true concern, I do not believe that a true leader will ever promote policies he thinks might hurt his community, even if he knows that without doing so he might hurt his future as a leader. Therefore, leaders who do not request feedback from their people due to this concern are, in my opinion, not actual leaders to start with. Thus, I stand firm on my position that leaders should recieve feedback from their people.

In conclusion, every leader must be open to feedback from his people if he wants to promote his citizens in the best manner possible, promote what best fits their need and recieve their gratitude and trust. Due to that, and while feedback might also weaken a leaders belief in his own ideas, I see it as crucial that any leader will recieve constant feedback from his people.