Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Most people would agree that any leader, especially a poiltical one, must be a quite intelligent individual, with vast interdisciplinary knowledge. However, some argue a specfic field in which such knowledge is irrelavent is the field of history, and the understanding of past occurunces that affected the community which is being led. I do not agree with this assumption since I believe a community's future is greatly affected by it's past, and the ability to lead it depends on the understanding of it's culture and society.

Firstly, there is no doubt that the main citeria for an auspicious leader is his ability to forward his community's standing, making it much more prosperous than before. Since history tends to repeat itself, meaning past events can be useful to predict future outcomes, understanding the past is crucial in order to be prepared for the future, and plan accordingly. Only through such preperation, can a leader succeed in promoting his community, and therefore I see historical knowledge as critical for any leader. For example, a British navy commander would be able to lead his troops much more successfully if he were to learn about past UK wars, since through such understanding he would be able to identify the strengths and weaknesses of the British navy, both of which are quite likely to affect it in any future battle.

Moreover, understanding a community's future promises a broad understanding of it's culture, and such an understanding is crucial to him who wants to lead any kind of society. For example, an American politician must understand the indigenious Native-American community if he wants to succed in being a leader of all americans, no matter their background. By understanding the past of this community, the hardships faced by it's ancestors, and the way they overcame them, a leader would know more about the Native-American community of today, and thus would be able to lead them more succesfully. Therfore, I have no doubt that any leader must know the history of the people he leads, be them a signifcant part of his electorate or a small one.

In contrast to the above, it is true that dwelling in the past might serve to weaken a leader in the sense that it would divert him from making the right decisions. For example, the British navy commander previously introduced might look back at wars such as World War Two, in which the british Navy was greatly strained by the battles in Dunkirk, and conclude his troops will not be able to prevail the enemy without assitance of the British airforce. In fact, this might be a fallacy since the British navy has long been updated, thus it is much stronger than before. Nevertheless, I believe that this does not conclude an historical understanding is irrelavent to leader, rather implying that a leader should use it wisely.

In conclusion, a historical understanding of a community's past is crucial for him who wants to lead that community into the future, since such knowledge is critical to be able to promise the community's prosperity, and understand it's roots. Thus, even though it must be used wisely, I believe any leader must hold such knowledge.