Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Colleges in the United States are quite different in their educational approach than Colleges and Universities elswhere, namely in the Middle East. While the formers tend to require students to particapate in courses from a wide array of fields, and not only from their specific field of interest, the latters require students to focus their studies on one specific field from the very first day of school.

Regarding this issue, I believe that the American University system is more beneficial due to it's ability to broaden the point of view of students and widen their overall general knowledge. Since studies show that the extent of general knowledge amongst the younger generation is quite less impressive than that of their parents, this positive outcome of the American system should be regarded as highly important both to the students themselves, and to society as a whole.

Moreover, universities that do not implement the American system require students to choose a specific field of interest at a very young age, when they are very early in their academic and professional lives. This is quite troubling for many pupils and might result in many studying fields in which they turn out to find little to no interest. In contrast, the American system promises that each student will choose his major after careful consideration, and after experiencing a variety of options. Since the field in which a student decides to major will affect his whole life, I believe it is crucial to allow him the time and information he needs in order to make the right decision for him. Therefore, I believe that a university system that allows it's pupils to explore various subject is much better then one that does not.

Of course, such an approach has its problems. One if it's major problems is that allowing students to experience many fields of interest can be considered time consuming since they will study subjects which will be of no professional use to them in the future. Thus, such an approach might broaden their overall knowledge, but narrow their expertise in the specific field they want to major in. This is, of course, a concern that should be adrressed yet I assess that the time spent studying different fields, when looking at as oppossed to a lifelong career in a specific field, is unsignificant and thus it will not actually harm the student or his expertise substantually.

In conclusion, While many difficulties can arise from the implementation of such an educational approach, I believe that allowing students to take courses from various fields is crucial for their overall knowledge and certinity in their future profession. Due to that, I think every univerisity, worldwide, should consider adpoting such an approach.