Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this pargraph, the authors tried to argue that the Paleo diet, which is similar to the diet of early human beings, the hominids, is best for humans today. In doing so, the authors assumed several fallacies which weaken their argument and makes it irrelavent.

The first assumption this paragraph wrongly makes is that human beings today, and the threats posed to them, are biologically similar to their ancestors, the hominids. This assumption is the basis of the argument since it is needed in order to concieve that a modern person mimicing the hominids nutrition by eating paleo diet foods, will enjoy the same positive outcomes as the hominids enjoyed from such a diet. In reality, we know that the human body, and the threats posed to it, have evolved substantuially since the time of the homonids, and therfore the human body developed different needs and abillities. Due to that, it is wrong to assume that what was benefical for our ancestors would undoubtly be beneficial for us. For example, today the human body must protect itself from a wide range of viruses that were previously unheard of. This protection, in many cases, requires a different diet than that eaten by the hominids. THis fallacy must be adrressed by the authors of the paragraph, mainly by examining the biological differences between hominids and modern human beings.

The second probalmatic assumption this paragraph states is that anecdotal cases are proof for a general truth. In the paragraph, the writers argue that since there are some instances in which the Paleo diet had positive outcomes for modern human beings, it must be inferred that the diet has universal positive outcomes. In reality, no matter how many anecdotal instances occoured, as long as they are not examined using statistical methods, these outcomes cannot be seen as more than private instances. Only through statistical examination would we be able to infer that the anecdotal evidence is proof of a general positive outcome of the Paleo diet.

Lastly, the paragraph assumes that a healthy diet is one that protects the body from only a small set of problems: joint and nerve problems, and metabolic and inflammatory diseases. While any person should act to protect himself from these issues, in the 21st century the body needs a diet that protects a person from many other problems. Such problems, in many cases, were irrelavent to ancient hominids and thefore the absence of food that protect them from such problems would not have hurt them at all. For example, human beings today, as part of modern jobs, must use their brains much more than the hominids. It is a well knwon fact that many food products support such use, for example by stimulating brain proccesses or promoting memory abilities. Therefore, the paragraph wrongly assumes that the human body must protect itself from only a small set of problems, all of which are similar to problems threatining the hominids, but in fact many new problems have arised that might not be addressed by the paleo diet. In order to strengthen the argument, the effects of the Paleo diet on issues such as brain functions must also be examined and addressed by the authors of this paragraph.

In conclusion, the paragraph bases it's conclusion on three arguments that are most likely fallacies. Only by adrressing these, in various methods I mentioned above, would this paragraph become more convincing.