The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our markteting department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awarness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the reccomendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director offers a strategy based on a very general observation, without providing enough data needed to understand if this strategy is actually worthwhile. To further analyze this issue, three main questions must be answered.

Firstly, the advertising director stated that fewer people attended Super Screen-produced films than in any other year, but he did not state if the overall market share of Super Screen films decreased. Therefore, I would first ask if there was a change in Super Screen's viewership market share during the past year? This is crucial in order to understand if Super Screen has fell back as opposed to it's competition, or whether the movie industry as a whole is suffering from a decrease in viewership. In the first case, the advertiesment director's reccomendations might be relavent, since the decrease was only seen in Super Screen viewership, but in the second it would seem that the decrease is due to a much graiver problem than reaching out to the public, as the advertisment director suggests.

Secondly, the advertisment director has presupposed that his department lacks funds, and therefore was less efficent than in previous years. In order to analyze if this is in fact true, the advertisment budget during the past year must be compared to previous budgets, and it must be determined whether a derease in advertisment costs occured. If a signifcant decrease did in fact occur, and in every year such a decrease occured a cocurrent decrease in viewership can be seen, then the director's suggestion might be beneficial since a corrolation between viewership and advertisment budget can be seen. In any other case, it cannot be expected that a raise in the advertisment budget would surely result in an increase in viewership.

Lastly, the director suggests that positive reviews must mean that a film is attractive to the audience and that people would be willing to see the positively reviewed film. In reality, it seems the exact opposite might be the case. Most box office hits are known to recieve generally negative review from critics, while the movies with critical praise usually suffer from low interest amongst the audience. Hence, the director's assumption that if viewers were aware of Super Screen's films' positive reviews they would be more interested in seeing them must be examined. I would ask whether in previous years, both amongst Super Screen films and other films, a connection can be seen between viewership rates and positive reviews. Only if a positive connection exists, might the director's suggestion be benficial. In any other case, it would seem that positive reviews do not in fact promise high quality film's that attract many viewers, and thus the director's assumption that the decrease in viewership has nothing to do with the films' quality would be wrong.

In conclusion, many questions must be answered before we would be able to determine whether the director's proposition is reasonable and based on sufficent arguments.