An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The international organization has created a plan to combat vitamin A deficiency in Tagus by promoting a new breed of millet that has a high concentration of vitamin A. While this plan might in fact work, many questions must be answered in order to asses it's success chances.

Firstly, the deficiency's origin must be investigated and the organization must inquire if it is due to a lack of vitamin A in the daily nutrition of Tagus residents, or due to something else. For example, many vitamin deficiencies stem from climate conditions in a country, hygiene traditions and so on. If the vitamin A deficiency is caused by a lack of the vitamin in residents' nutrition, than the organization's plan might succeed, but in any other case, the increase in vitamin A will have no affect whatsoever on the health of residents.

Secondly, the organization admits that the new millet would cost more, and thus it plans to provide subsidies to farmers. In such a way, the organization hopes that the price would not prevent the farmers from growing the new millet. While this is important, the organization did not investigate if the price of the new millet for consumers would be the same as the old breed. The price of a product in a market is not affected only by it's production costs, but also on other factors such as quality compared to other similar products. In the case before us, it seems there is reason to believe that the added quality of the new millet would result in it costing more for consumers than the original millet. If that were the case, many residents would decide to continue purchasing the original millet and therefore would not enjoy the new millet's benefits. Due to this threat, it can be asserted that only if the consumer prices for both millets were the same, or if the organization would subsidize the difference between them, would the organization's attempt be successful.

Lastly, the organization must make sure that the new millet has the same qualities as the previous millet, in all but it's amount of vitamin A. If, for example, the millet would be inferior to the previous brand in taste, or in vitamin C, this might have an effect on the organization's success. In the first case, the bad taste might prevent consumers from purchasing the product, since they would rather enjoy their meal than address their vitamin A deficiency, and in the latter they might rather have enough vitamin C and a vitamin A deficiency than vice versa. Based on these two examples, it becomes clear that only if the organization was able to create a millet that is of same quality as the previous one, except for it's high levels of vitamin A, would the plan to eradicate the vitamin A deficiency be viable.

In conclusion, the organization's plan to fight the vitamin A deficiency in the country of Tragus might in fact succeed, but in order to assess it's success additional questions must be answered.