The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The section stated in Dean's newsletter is aimed for students to help the local charity services and provide some of their valuable time for the society. It is a very thought-out idea by the dean, dependent on certain factors for it's success.

The thing that pops into anyone's mind is, what kind of local charities are there i.e. the main motive of those charities. There can be several type of these charities, some which aims for overall growth of society and some may be questionable, which might have some shady underlying and would use students' precious time for their own benifit. As shown in various movies, there would be orphanages performing malpractice in their background, and this could very well hold true in real world. So, the dean should definitely keep this in mind.

Not only that, the dean should not just bloat out with charities having only a certain kind of community service. The community service offerings offered by a charity should contain various type of services they provide to the community. Not only it makes a charity more diverse, it gives students a lot of options in terms of enrollment to these community service, thereby students are more likely to devote the alloted time of community service, maybe even more.

And speaking of students likely to join community service, the dean should also keep in mind that most of the students are less likely to do community service just in the name of benifit to the society. They are very likely to incline the community work based on their own self-interest. And since the dean has proposed to provide free community service, it is very likely that the very premise aimed for betterment of those charities might actually see very few students enrolling for the community service.

The idea stated in newspaper is indeed very novel, and the dean should incorporate it, whilst keeping in mind the above assumptions should be taken care of, else they are very likely to hinder the actual motive it strives for.