Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

How the past affects the future is a very interesting question to debate about. It has has even greater significance when we specifically talk about leadership. The prompt suggests that understanding the past is of little use to those in current roles of leadership. I strongly disagree with the prompt for the following reasons.

To begin, the government of any country or state needs to study and understand the past, as the past can give clues to handle major issues of the comtemporary world. For example take the case of the deadly corona virus, which originated in China and ran rampant across the world, killing hundreds of thousands. Now in order to stop the spread of the disease, for which no known cure existed, governments all around the world imposed complete lockdowns on their states. This decision was influenced by what countries did while combating other global pandemics in the past, such as smallpox and swine flu. Understanding the past allows major bodies of leadership to use a successful strategy used in the past to combat modern day problems.

Furthermore, the modern day world is a result of a series of events which took place in the past. Thus in order to truly understand certain things we take for granted in the contemporary world, we must completely understand the past. For example, its a well known fact that the president of the United States of America can only stay in office for maximum of two terms. However, in order to truly understand why this is the case, one has to go back to the days in which the constitution was written. A exegesis of this period will allow modern day presidents to truly understand the meaning of their role in office.

Now many 'experts' believe the current day world is drastically different from the world of the past. They argue that present day humans face significantly different problems when compared to what humans of the past did. To these 'experts' I would like to say, that even though our society has improved technologically , the various problems faced by people are still the same. Issues of poverty, health care, lack of education and student loans were always a concern for people living in any age. Thus leader needs to dig deep into the past to understand what policies worked and what policies failed when deciding the appropriate way to handle these conundrums.

In conclusion I would like to say that studying and understanding the past will allow leaders of the current world to form better and more efficient policies, inspired from previous policies, to tackle modern day problems.