Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that green tea drinkers should have no more than two cups a day, as a long term study posits that people who have three or more cups in a day can suffer from symptoms that habitual coffee drinkers face. The validity of the argument can only be evaluated if the following evidences are provided.

Firstly, the argument needs to elucidate on the reliability of the study, which puts a upper cap on the number of cups of tea a person should drink in a day. It is possible that the study took into consideration only people above 60 years of age. For people so old, their body cannot handle even small amount of caffeine. Further, the study may have only had a very small number of test cases over a long period of time. Having a small number of test cases will not allow any study to make a generalization regarding the drinking of tea. If either of the above cases are true, then the validity of the argument is called into question.

Secondly, the argument needs to address on how much caffiene is too much for the body. The argument unwarrantly assumes that issues arrising due to the amount of caffeine in three cups of tea is similar to the issues arrising due to the amount of caffeine consumed by chronic coffee drinkers. It is possible that issues caused due to caffeine intake are due to high concentrations of caffeine rather than the quantity of caffiene intake, and since tea has a lesser concentration of caffeine, tea thus would not cause caffeine related issues simliar to that caused by chronic drinking of coffee.

Another point the argument needs to elaborate on is whether the disadvantages of drinking multiple cups of tea a day outweigh the advantages offered by doing so. It is possible that all the beneficiary effects of drinking green tea (being an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds) are essential for the human body and cannot be obtained from other sources. In such a case the argument that one should not drink multiple cups of tea a day stands weakened.

In conclusion the argument as it stands is severly flawed due to its dependance on several unwarranted assumptions. The validity of the argument can only be evaluated if the argument can further elucidate on the points mentioned above in the form of a systematic research study.