The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business plan presented by Apex Corporation argues that "Gourmet Select" will be the top selling brand in the coffee market. The argument is based on the rigorous advertising campaign the company aims to follow. However, the validity of the argument can only be addressed after the below mentioned assumptions, made by the arguement, are addressed.

Firstly, the corporation is releasing a new line of coffee based on the increased demand for artisan coffee. Now the business plan assumes that the manner in which the information regarding artisan coffee was collected is reliable. It is possible that the survey held to collect this information was only conducted on a limited set of individuals who wanted too see more artisan coffee in the markets, whereas the majority of the population preffered other kinds of coffee to artisan coffee. Further, it is possible that survey held to choose the preffered type of coffee was in the format of a multiple choice question, and the choices were arranged in alphabetical order, artisan coffee being the first choice. Now majority of the people might have been indifferent towards the type of coffee and just marked the first choice they found to end the survey quickly. If the above are true, then the assumption that there is an increase in demand for artisan coffee is cast into doubt.

Secondly, the argument unwarrantly assumes that it will be able to go into its second phase of advertising: campaigns aimed at televison and radio. It may be possible that the introduction into major supermarket chain backfires, as competitors also see this as an opportunity and release their own lines of artisan coffee. It may also be possible that even without any competition, the consumers who do purchase "Gourmet Select" do not like the taste of the coffee. In both the above cases word of mouth advertising will not be able to sustain sales and will prove harmful to the product and the company.

Another unwarranted assumption made by the company is that the advertisements on television and radio will be effective. For instance, there might be a more pressing issue that might be ongoing in the country, and thus a consumer who prefers to know more about this issue may switch to another channel, which talks about the issue, rather than go through a commercial on coffee. In such a case the effectivity of the advertisement campaign is compromised and the argument that "Gourmet Select" will be a best seller in the coffee market is up for contention.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is severely flawed due to several unwarranted assumptions the argument depends on. In order to completely evaluate the validity of the argument, the above stated assumptions need to be addressed in the form of a formal research study.