Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that the supporters of Paleo diets believe ancient humans knew about human physiology, and by eating what they ate, numerous chronic maladies can be cured. The proponents of the diet have reached this conclusion on the basis of anecdotal evidence of people following such a diet facing fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases as compared to people not following the diet. The validity of the argument is subject to three unstated assumptions.

Firstly, the argument prematurely assumes that hominids ate particular kinds of food due to their knowledge of human physiology. Hominids lived in a disparate environment compared to modern-day humans, and it is possible that the interaction with this environment could have shaped their diet. Hominids might have lived in a region where there were no other edible food options apart from bone broth and thus were forced to eat the broth. Further, there is a possibility that hominids did not have the technical know-how to produce and process other kinds of food. If either of these scenarios has merit, the assumption becomes unjustified, and essentially weakening the argument.

Secondly, the argument assumes that the diet followed by modern-day humans is the sole reason behind many of the diseases, and a change to the diet will cure all these maladies. However, it is possible that modern-day humans owe their rich variety of diseases to their unhealthy lifestyle. For example, humans in the computer industry spend countless hours sitting in front of an electronic screen, engaging in little to no physical activity. This lack of physicality can be a reason for the poor condition of joints in modern-day humans.

Another assumption made by the argument is that the results obtained by anecdotal evidence is reliable. By definition, anecdotal evidence is evidence collected from casual and informal accounts. Maybe the evidence obtained in such a manner misses out on the section of the population which does not follow the Paleo diet and are perfectly healthy. Furthermore, the evidence may not contain information about people who did not benefit from following the Paleo diet. In either case, the assumption that the anecdotal evidence is reliable comes into scrutiny, essentially casting doubt on the argument.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to give further details about the above-mentioned assumptions (perhaps in the form of a research study), then it would be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the argument.