The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The level of interaction between leaders and those whom they lead is a significant contributor to the success of the leader. The prompt states that the best leaders encourage the people who they lead to give feedback on the various policies enacted by the leader. I strongly agree with the prompt for the following reasons.

To begin, leaders are human beings, and human beings tend to make mistakes no matter how exceptionally good the individual is. In such a world, it would do good for leaders of any group or community to receive feedback from the people they lead. This feedback would allow leaders to correct their mistakes and avoid further mistakes in the future. For example, take the case of president Barack Obama, hailed as one of the greatest recent presidents of the United States of America. The president, however received a lot of criticism for his policy on illegal immigrants; the policy seperated immigrant children from their mothers and locked them in cages. Many, including some of the strongest proponents of the president, felt that the policy was inhuman and appealed to the president to cancel the policy. The president listened to millions of people under his rule and repealed the policy. In this exmaple we can clearly see that a leader would benefit greatly from listening to those he/she leads.

Furthermore, a leader who does not take feedback from those he/she leads tends to make terrible decisions. This is due to the fact that the policies made by leaders are to enhance the lives of those under his/her rule. In such a case if a policy spreads widespread dissatisfaction, then the only way the policy can be corrected is through the leader interacting with the people he/she leads. However, with no interaction, the policy stands, spreading discontempt. Take the case of president Donald Trump. The president has a history of upsetting the masses through his reckless policy making. In one such act, Donald Trump passed a bill which made it impossible for immigrants from certain gulf countries to enter the United States. Now many people in the country saw this as a racist attempt by the president to ban the entry of muslims in the country (the gulf countries addressed by the bill are predominantly muslim). the president was slammed by all forms of media and all groups of people who live in the US. However the president turned a blind eye towards them all, and upto this day the bill has not been revoked. This decision by the president reduced his already low popularity among the US public.

There are some 'experts' who would argue that people generally don't know what is is good for them and listening to their feedback is generally a waste of time. These 'experts' believe that leaders should spend more time on policy making instead of interacting with the general population. To these 'experts' I would like to ask, on what basis do they decide that the general public does not know what is good for them? Another question I would like these so called 'experts' to address is that how do they decide whether a policy is sucessful or not, when the people who it affects are not even consulted to give a feedback on the decision.

In conclusion, I would like to state that it is of prime importance for leaders of any community to interact with people whom they lead in order to enable leaders to make better and more effcient policies.