Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

The prompt states that science and technology will one day be the solution to all of society's problems. I mostly agree with the prompt and believe that science is a major player when it come to solving complicated issues of the future for the following reasons.

To begin, one of the major issues faced by contemporary society is the spread of fatal diseases for which no cure is currently known, such as AIDS and cancer. In order to cure such maladies, a lot of money has to be invested into research which can enable the discovery of new medicines to tackle the diseases. Take for example, swine flu, a deadly disease which ran rampant on the world during the first decade of the twenty first century. This disease caused by a novel strain of the H1N1 virus had no known cure. Once the disease broke out, many millions of dollars was invested into the research about this new strain of virus. This research allowed scientists to find the source of the virus, the symptoms caused by the disease and possible cures for the disease. Drug companies built upon this research to come up with a vaccine to combat swine flu. This vaccine is still used in present day to treat cases of swine flu, and thus saving countless lives. The above example is a classic case of science and research saving the day. If more money and time is invested into the research of medicine, many currently uncurable diseases will in the near future have vaccines.

Another major threat society faces on the global scale is the lack food and chances of an universal famine. In other words, human beings needs to come up with efficient ways to combat external factors which destroy crops in large scales to ensure the availability of food for consumption. For instance, the current case of locust infestation in African farms is alarming - millions of ravenous insects, each having a gigantic appettite (each insect consumes mass equal to its body weight in a day), come together in large groups and feed on fields of grain and crop. If this situation grows out of hand, the entire continent of Africa may go into a major famine. In this case more research needs to be done on the kind of technologies that can combat these insects. On possible solution which is being explored by scientists, is the possibility of creating bioengineered organisms which feed on these locusts, thus essentially expunging the insect threat to farms and fields.

However, science and technology can only answer the objective questions of life, such as - is there a cure for the disease, will we have enough food next year, etc. But life is an interplay of objective and subjective questions, and no amount of scientific research and experimentation can answer these subjective questions. These subjective questions dvelve on issue of what is morally right and what is morally wrong. For example science might have given us a method for painless abortion, however science cannot give an answer to whether abortion is morally right or wrong. Such questions and problems faced my modern day society cannot be explained or solved by new scientific discoveries, but are however crucial to the functioning of society as a whole.

The question of whether science and technology is the solution to every conundrum is a question up for debate. While science does well for itself on objective problems of the world, it stumbles when required to face the subjective reality. In conclusion, science is a key player in solving future socital issues, but it won't help with everything.