Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

The question of what kinds of courses a student should take in his/her undergraduate education has been one debated for many years. The prompt suggests that students majoring in Business or Science should not take courses in Humanities as it wont help them progress their career. I strongly disagree with the statement for the following reasons.

Firstly, students who learn courses from various streams tend to develop into proficient problem solvers who can analyze a problem from multiple perspectives. For example, take a student who majors in economics and joins a finance firm where his/her primary job is to analyze the variation of jobs and incomes within a country. Now there are standard economic theories which would help the student come up with an approximate. However, the jobs and lives led by individuals of a country also depend on factors such as art, human happiness, history of the country and its various traditions. Thus inorder to get accurate results the economics student would benefit if he/she has some formal training in history and arts.

Secondly, students who study a variety of courses tend to develop into well rounded individuals. These students tend to contribute more to society than students who follow a unidirectional path in their undergraduate studies and hence have more fruitful careers. For instance, take the case Dr. Subramaniam Swamy, a Harvard business school graduate, a very important member of the political system of India. Dr. Swamy might have majored in business, but the knowledge he gained from studying law at Harvard substantially improved his grip over Indian politics and allowed him to better interact with the people, thereby furthering his political carrer.

Now many 'experts' feel that pursuing courses apart from the chosen major are counter-productive and in no way help students in their professional careers. To those 'experts' who raise this argument I would like to ask - If they are running a company, who would they likely hire: a student who has studied variety of courses and his a well rounded individual with amazing problem solving skills or a student who focussed on a singular topic for several years and has never left his/her comfort zone.

In conclusion I would like to say that students should be allowed to explore various possible avenues in their undergraduate education so that colleges produce well rounded individuals who can solve difficult real life problems and contribute to society in a meaningful manner.