Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

The prompt states that discussion should not be held with people who have contrasting views on a controversial topic as people rarely tend to change their minds. I strongly disagree with the prompt for the following reasons.

To begin, open debate is the key to development of new ideas and enrichment of already existing ideologies. In order to solve issues of universal importance, on which several contrasting views exist, open debate is the only solution. For instance, take the case of the film Vishwaroopam; the film drew widespread criticism from the muslim comunity of India who wanted the film banned in the country, as the film potrayed muslims as terrorists. However, the filmakers and other actors associated with the film argued that even the main hero of the film was a muslim and they wanted to release the film without anything expurgated. The debate continued for a good amount of time before both sides made concessions, and the film was released with certain indelicate parts censored. The above example shows how open debate and discussion led to the solving of a conundrum, in which two parties had disparate opinions.

Further, certain points of contention by people on certain topics are outright wrong. These individuals, if not shown the right arguments, will live in their ignorance forever. For example, take the case of Flat Earthers - a group of people who believe the Earth is flat. Now the fact that is the Earth is not flat, rather an imperfect sphere (flattened at the poles and bulged at the equator) is well known and a proven scientific fact. A topic such as this should never have any contention. However, people who are speculative about this, should be shown through discussions and lectures the fallacies in their argument in order to enable them to truly understand their mistakes.

Many 'experts' would argue that dealing with an individual or group who have contrasting opinions is a waste of time. To these 'experts' I would like to ask - if one of their children believed that the Earth is flat and them being the 'expert' knows that science says otherwise, will they not try to change their child's view or will they argue that the child as an opposing view and hence stay mute about the topic.

In conclusion I would like to say that open discussion and debate is an extremely important factor when it comes to discussing controversial issues about society. If open debate is ignored, we would live in a society which grows more ignorant with every passing day.