Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The effect that technology has on the lives of human beings has always been highly debated. The prompt suggests that technology has only made our lives more complicated. I strongly disagree with the prompt for the following reasons.

To begin, historically, technology has aimed to tackle seemingly impossible problems and find efficient solutions to these problems. For instance take the case of transportation. Pre-historic man often wandered around from place to place on foot. This form of transportation was sufficient at a time when humans still lived as hunters and gatherers. However with the coming of the agricultural age, human beings needed to transport large quantities of material from one region to another. For such a task moving around by foot was not an option as it would consume too much time. In such a scenario, the ingenuity of the farmers led to the development of the wheel, which allowed effective and efficient transporation of goods from place to place. The development of the wheel further led to the invention of cars and steam engines during the industrial revolution which allowed the mass transportation of people from one region to another. However as time passed by, and the world became more connected, conventional terrestrial transport (cars and trains) were no longer efficient and effective in transporting people between countries. This problem led to human beings developing air based travel through aeroplanes which significantly reduced the amount of time it took to travel from one country to another.

Furthermore, mature technology tries to make the lives of human beings more convinient. For example take the case of the booming Internet of Things (IoT) sector. IoT is a concept which combines ubiqutous computing with computer networking. In other words it aims to give intelligence to everyday objects, so that these objects can communicate with other objects and make usefull decisions. For instance consider an IoT based umbrella. This umbrella will continuously monitor the weather forecast of a region through the internet. If there is a chance of precipitation in the user's locality the umbrella will notify the user that he/she should take the umbrella if they venture outdoors. By doing the above set of actions the umbrella allows the user to not worry about the weather forecast and affords them to use their time to address more pressing concerns.

However there are those 'pundits' who believe that technology has only made the lives of human beings worse. They say that technology such as social networking are the root cause of depression and other mental health issues. This argument by the 'pundits' breaks down if one does a little research into the matter at hand. Social networking was born so that the world could become more united and individuals would get opportunities previously unavailable to them. With greater number of opportunities at hand an individual can follow his/her dreams with lesser constraints. Now I would like to ask these 'pundits' how is it possible that individuals get depressed if they are afforded opportunities, that previously did not exist, to follow their dreams.

In conclusion, I would like to say that technology is aimed at solving conundrums which need to be solved and improving on solutions that technology has already provided. Technology improves the overall living standards of human beings.