Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Many would say that technology makes our lives more intricate. In some senses, this is true that too many functions and complicated direction for use drive people who are not tech-savvy to give up utilize technologies. Yet, I still believe that technology helps people to have easy lives in some parts, not ‘only’ making it complicated. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this argument and argue that technologies allow us to streamline our lives for two reasons.

Of course, only a few people, who are tech-savvy, could utilize the difficult and various functions of smartphones and laptops. When it comes to convenience for use, the suggestion seems critical. For instance, many people give up using internet banking because it is too difficult to learn how to do, and still prefer going to a bank. They probably think that going to a bank is ‘simpler’ than internet banking because the bankers will do everything for them. However, people need to learn computers and smartphones since many jobs including bankers have been automated. Then the people eventually think that ‘learning technologies’ is difficult and intricate.

Nevertheless, it does not necessarily mean that technology itself makes our lives complicated. Even if it is difficult to learn how to use it at first, it would shorten work time once you acquire the functions. MS Office programs such as Word and Excel can be a compelling example of this. Word is a great editing program for writing, in which we can write an essay or make a report in a few minutes. Excel which is equipped with a calculating function allows people to work without a portable calculator, and it is definitely faster than people taping the portable calculator. Some people might struggle with using lots of functions.

In addition, the technologies have even become easier to use. Many technology companies are trying to cut down superfluous functions and make the design simpler to generalize technologies. For example, Siri, a voice recognition technology, allows us to use functions by ‘speaking’. I believe that the user friendly-designs and functions will let our lives lean toward ‘simple’ more than ‘complicated’.

In sum, despite the argument has a point that many people do struggle with using smartphones and computers, once we accustomed to them, we could finish work faster and have more free time. If all things are taken together, we cannot fully agree with the idea is always right.