The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The Dean’s newsletter announced that the university of Wabash will require all undergraduate and graduate students to do community service. The requirement of the graduation will be a minimum of 8 hours for 9 months. The author believes that the goal of any university is to produce balanced and accommodating graduates for society. What’s more, he tries to make a convincing argument by further claiming that the social service activities would allow students to benefit from on-field working experience. The argument seems persuasive, but the assumptions lead me to conclude that it is flawed.

First, the author assumes that the purpose of universities is the production of members who well blend into society. However, the author should reconsider that the goal of universities. Depends on the universities, the goal can be different. For example, some universities focus on offering vocational training so that it raises the employment rate of graduates. In this case, the requirement of community service might be helpful for students. The other universities, on the other hand, may focus on providing students to grow academically and have an in-depth study. This means that the latter universities should prioritize ‘studying and researching’. More precisely, it can be different by majors and departments. The university should survey that the characteristics and goals of each department before making a decision.

Another assumption that the author makes is that community service allows students to gain working experience and the community can also benefit from it. However, the assumptions might not be true if the needs of community service and the student's major are disparate. For example, if a community has a high percentage of senior citizens, the community might need volunteers in the public health field. In this case, students who major in STEM would not get an advantage of a working experience, and the community might not also get the help they really need. The university should survey that what kind of community service is demanded from the community and encourage certain students to do community service so that it satisfies both community and the students.

In summary, the author needs to reconsider the assumptions. In order to strengthen the argument, the author should survey the characteristic of each department and how the community service can satisfy both students and the community.