Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The courses required to be studied by students during their college education has been a topic that has debated for many years. The prompt suggests that universities should restrict students from exploring courses that are not related to their field of study. I strongly disagree with the prompt for the following reasons.

To begin, in the contemporary world, the problems that need to be addressed are not limited to knowledge from any one field. In order to solve such conundrums, working professionals need to be able to view a problem from multiple perspectives. This ability to look at a problem from multiple directions can only be got from having a large and varied knowledge base. For example, take the case of an economist, whose primary job is too find the net income of a region. To accurately estimate the net income, it is not enough for an economist to only depend on his study of finance and markets. Rather, the economist has to understand the history and culture of the people living in the region to account for the types of jobs the people are willing to perform, the economist needs to understand the geographic location of the region to understand what kind of paying job opportunities exist in the region, the economist needs to understand social situation existing in the country to verify whether the individulas present in the region are able to maximize their profits. In such a scenario it can clearly bee seen that if the economist was only educated about finance and markets, he/she would not have been able to effectively tackle the multi-dimendional problems faced by modern society.

Furthermore, a varied coursework in colleges leads to the overall development of the individual. Varied coursework increases the knowledge base of the individual and allows him/her to become better leaders of the society. For example take the case of Dr. Subramaniam Swami, a renowned politician in India. Dr. Swami, who studied law at Harvard, is well known for his acute insights on policies and laws brought about by the government. However, his knowledge about business and economics, which he gathered while studying at Harvard, has enabled him to view laws and policies not only from a judicial view point, but also allows him to address concerns over certain policies which may prove harmful to the economy of the country. The above example is a precedent as to how a mixed syllabus at any university allows an individual to become a better leader.

Some 'experts' would argue that studying subjects not related to the students field of choice might be a waste of time for the student, and rather students should strictly stick to studying only courses from their respective fields. To these 'experts' I would like to ask, how acquiring any kind of knowledge is a waste of time. Students who stick to their own fields generally tend to not leave their comfort zones and thus might face issues later on in their professional lives when they need to make decisions which requires them to leave their comfort zones and tackle subjects alien to them. In such a scenario is it not better to educate students in multiple fields allowing them to go into their professional lives knowing that they can tackle any and all situations.

In conclusion, I would like to say, universities should require students to take courses from multiple fields. This allows the student to step out of his/her comfort zone and tackle real world problems in an effective manner.