Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt states that individulas should see their ideas through, not paying any attention to their doubters in order to leave a lasting legacy. I mostly agree with the statement for the following reasons.

To begin, individuals who have radical ideas are criticized by almost everyone, but those people who express doubt on the idea seldom truly understand the mechanics and the scope of the issue at hand. For instance take the case of Steve Jobs, who famously said that the use of a stylus to interact with a phone was meaningless when humans already have ten fingers. Steve Jobs made such a claim when the entire world was moving towrds stylus based smartphones. For this he was widely criticized and ridiculed by both the technological experts of the day and the general consumer population. However, Jobs stuck to his idea of using his finger as a pointing device rather than a stylus, and his company, Apple, created the first iPhone with MultiTouch capability. The iPhone took the world by storm and everyone around the globe was fascinated by this new phone. Even today, around twenty years after the first iPhone launched, smartphones are still touch based and not stylus based, all because one man believed in his idea and paid no heed to critics.

Further, some individuals plainly criticize and demean an someone because they fear losing their position of authority. For example take the case of Nikola Tesla, the father of modern day electricity. Tesla wanted to give free power to the world, in the form of Alternating Current (AC). This form of electricity would allow long distance transmission of power without significant losses and thus could bring electricity to every nook and corner of the country. However, Thomas Edison, the pioneer of Direct Current (DC), repetitively downplayed the advantages of AC and outright rejected the use of AC for powering households. Compared to Tesla, Thomas Edsion had greater political power and money, using which he tried to destroy the work of Tesla, terming it unsafe. Thus Tesla's dream of giving free electricity to everyone died. However, the work done by Nikola Tesla was found by another scientist after Tesla's death and this scientist had the sense to popularize AC. The value of AC was quickly grasped by the industry, and upto this date, the world runs on the power of Alternating Current. Tesla's legacy will live on till the end of time.

However there are those who argue that people who criticize you do it for your own good. A classic example of such a case is president Barack Obama. Barack Obama was widely criticized about the way in which he handled the issue of illegal immigrant kids who entered the United States. There were reports which said that the children were seperated from their mothers and forced to live in cages. Listening to this criticism, the president changed his policies regarding illegal immigrant children, which bought him wide acclaim. This is a case where an individual listened to criticism and changed his ways which helped him cement his legacy.

In conclusion, the question of whether you should pay heed to your critics or not is a very difficult question to answer. In my opinion, pushing through with yur ideas without paying much attention to critics will end up paying rich dividends in teh future.