The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The article written by Dr. Karp concludes that an interview-centered method to studying cultures will produce better results as compared to an observation-centered approach. This conclusion is based on the fact that, children belonging to the group of islands including Tertia spoke a lot more about their biological parents when interviewed. Dr. Karp believes this is a direct contradiction to the conclusion reached by Dr. Field, who based on his observations, posited that children of Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their biological parents. This argument by Dr. Karp cannot be fully evaluated without the further evidences.

Firstly, Dr. Karps's argument needs to provide more information regarding the characteristics of the interview. It is highly possible that the interview conducted with the children, had questions which required the children to talk more about their biological parents as compared to other members of the society. Furthermore, it might be the case that interview was only taken with a handful of children, and thus the results from the interviews do no represent the whole scenario, and hence adding bias to the results. If either of the above are true, then the argument put forth by Dr. Karp is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the argument needs to shed more light on the correlation between answers given in the interviews by children and the way they are brought up. The argument prematurely assumes that since the children talk more about their biological parents, they must have been brought up by their biological parents, and the rest of the community had nothing to do with the upbringing of the child. It is just possible that the children might have been more fond off their bilogical parents than the rest of the community, and hence speak more about them. This case if true, casts doubt on the conclusion drawn out by the argument.

Another point the argument needs to clarify is how the interview-centered method is better than the observation-centered approach to study culture. In general, observation-centered approaches are more accurate as compared to interview-centered methodologies. This is due to the unreliable nature of interviews which adds bias to the process, leading to incorrect results. The reliability of the interview will need to be addressed to evaluate the argument in its entirety.

In conclusion, the argument made by Dr. Karp, as it stands is severely flawed due to several unwarranted assumptions. If the argument can provide more details about the points mentioned above, it would be possible to evaluate the validity of the conclusion reached by the argument.