The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Mayor Harrison Smith Jones believes that with the construction of the new subway system, the productivity of workers will improve and thus the economy of Briggsville will follow suit. His argument is based on the fact that the subway system will reduce the traffic congestion in city and thus people will spend less time in commute. However, this argument put forth by the mayor depends on several unwarranted assumptions.

Firstly, the argument assumes that most of the people who go through the Briggsville downtown area are all headed to work. In other words, the argument assumes that the Briggsville downtown region is highly congested during the time when many of the city's residents go to work. However, it is possible that the Briggsville downtown region is most crowded in the evening (when many people are returning home from work) rather than the morning and thus have no direct relation to worker productivity. Further, it might be the case that the Briggsville downtown area might be the only way to reach a bustling commercial complex where the residents of the city do all their shopping. In such a case the validity of the argument that worker productivity will improve with the building of the subway system is called into question.

Secondly, the argument prematurely assumes that the subway system will be efficient and effective. For instance, the reason many busses were late might not have been an issue of the transport system rather it could have been the fault of lazy and irresponsible drivers. If the city corporation recruited similar people, who were irresposnible, to manage the subway system, then the subway system too will prove to be inefficient and ineffective. In such a case the developemnt of a new subway system will only lead to a wastage of money.

Another factor the argument assumes is the reliability of the complaints registered by the residents of Briggsville. It could be possible that only a small set of people have issued multiple repetitive complaints, whereas a major part of the residents are satisfied with the bus transport system. In such a scenario the complaints registered by these few individuals cannot describe the overall situation of the Brigssville downtown area, and thus no drastic measure should be taken inorder to revamp the transport system in the area. If, however, a drastic measure is taken, it would effect the countless number of residents who are comfortable the bus based transport system, and turn out to be counterproductive.

In conclusion, the argument offered by Mayor Harrison Smith Jones is severely flawed due to its dependence on several unwarranted assumptions. The validity of his argument can only be evaluated once a clarification on the assumptions made are provided.