The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the argument, both department stores, Namen and Roscoe, believe they will be more profitable in the growing suburb of Salem. Namen believes it would be more successful based on the growing population and median salary of the suburb. However, Roscoe believes that the suburbs are more family oriented and thus they would be more profitable than Namen. The arguments posed by both the stores can only be vaildated if answers to the following questions are provided.

Firstly, on what basis do the shops believe that people living in the suburb of Salem would want to spend their money on new clothes. It might be possible that people in the suburb despite a blossoming income have no interest in buying fashionable clothes at all. The people might be miselry and not want to spend their had earned money on fashionable clothing and would save the money for future use in case of an emergency. If any of the above is true, the arguments given by both the stores falls flat.

Secondly, Namen stores needs to ossify the basis on which they believe that the median salary of the population will keep growing. It is highly possible that a new IT company just opened up in the nearby area and many people previously jobless have now been recruited by the company for well paying jobs. If the IT comapny has filled out all vaccancies, an increase in the median salary of the suburb is not a given. If the above is true, the argument put forth by Namen stands significantly weakened.

Another question which needs to answered is the reliability of the source which states the median income of the suburb in Salem. It might be possible that the survey which was taken to record the incomes of various individuals was biased and only a small fraction of the people were actually surveyed. Another significant factor is the difference between the median income and the mean income of the people in the suburb. It is possible that the median income might be high, but the mean income, which determines the spread of income over the popluation of the suburb, be very low; thus indicating that not all member of the suburbs are in a state to spend on fashionable clothing.

In conclusion, the arguments posed by the two stores as it stands now is severly flawed, due to the dependance on several unwarranted assumptions. In order to truly evaluate the validity and effectiveness of the arguments, the above questions need to be answered in a systematic and reliable manner.