Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The policy states that the colleges and universities should require their teaching staff to work in the professional world in the field that directly related to courses they teach. I agree with the opinion.

The higher education institutes are expected not to just to impart education and make pupil learn definitions by heart, rather their embed of responsibilities should also encompass preparing their students to face real-world. The colleges should concentrate on equipping their students with the right kind of tool that they would require to excel in the cooperate world and reach pinnacle of their careers. this is only possible when faculty members are aware of current market situation and have faced it directly. Once they have learned and survived the challenging and demanding world of professional environment, then will they be able to design the structure of the program, revise the syllabus and incorporate the study material accordingly.

A teacher teaching computer courses should be teaching the languages, such Java, PHP and .Net, that are now in demand of employers rather than what they might have studied in the undergraduate decade ago, like Cobalt and FoxPro. An engineering management teacher will explain students the kind of environments they should be expecting to face in different industries if she herself has first-handedly experienced the same, rather than restricting herself to the academics and library. A Communication Skills teacher can help his class improve at presentation better if he himself had noticed what the senior executives in the real-world expect from a good presenter. An Ethics teacher will be including the more relevant case studies when he will be able understand on what dilemmas are faced by managers in working environment.

A college or university trains its student body to prepare for kick-start their career. this is not limited to bookish knowledge only, rather it horizon must be expanded to prepare them for everyday challenges and hurdles they will face at work. To enable this, the staff should be aware of what the industry demands of it employees and this can only happen when they face experience daily activities and dynamics of professional world themselves.