The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The board of director of Monarch books (mb) has been requested to approve opening a café at its premises. The write has stated her case along with justifications but it not cogent enough as it is rife with assumptions and holes.

The writer has tried to articulate the goodwill of the business based on the fact it has been operating since last two decades at the present location and has widespread customer reach. Before this fact could be agreed upon, further details are required. We need to understand how is mb performing from its clientele’s perspective. are they satisfied with the stocking of mb? is there any discipline for which for which publications are not readily available at the store? The writer should back this point based on a comprehensive feedback survey.

The memo suggested that space allocated to children’s book can be revamped to café since as per the national census the population of under ten children is on the decline. Now, to proceed further directors should be made aware of what percentage of revenue is obtained from these young customers. Secondly, it needs to be explained, what segment of society is facing decrement in children’s percentage. it could be the mortality would be high amongst infants of less privilege families resulting in overall decrease, but mb’s client base could be city’s gentry. If this is the actual case the entire idea would fall short and rework will be required.

The content is build on presumption that since the rival-Regal book (rb) has a café opened in their showroom, this new addition will enable mb compete better. The writer has not presented any detail regarding how the café successful has been the rb Café and how favorable has it turned out for the existing business of rb. is the café being utilized by rb readers or an entire other audience has turn it to their meetup spot?

The board would needs to understand how this is impacting mb. are the customers are preferring to visit rb over mb since they are offering them relaxing environment of read the new books and chitchat with friends? Also, the memorandum does not explore into rb Café. what has been offered in the menu, the price range and opening and closing timings.

The rival rb has opened a café and to stay in the business, mb might need to take some steps. However, the recommendation put forward is half-cooked. For the directors to conclude on decision, an elaborate study needs to be communicated.