Financial plan
having a good financial plan is an important aspect of life that many of us should, or at least try to do.
A well-developed plan can lead to a better life. In other
words, it can make you better prepared for
unexpected events, such as having a baby or a car accident. A financial plan consists of a series of steps
that includes: knowing where you are, where you want to go and putting it into action.
The first step when developing your financial plan is determining your current situation. that means,
listing all your expenses and revenues in a manner that it is easy enough to understand your cash
flow—the way you manage the ingoing and outgoing of your money. The best way to organize this list is
using categories—food, clothing, utilities, insurance, etc. Surprisingly, credit cards should not be
classified into a single category as this may lead to confusion and misspending. Instead, you should
classify credit card expenses into specific categories as previously stated because knowing all (as
knowing every detail about your purchases…) information about your purchases is crucial when creating
the plan.
With this overall picture of your current situation, the next step is determining your goals. some people
will mention that their goal is to be rich; however, that it is not considered a goal when developing a
financial plan. A goal usually has 5 characteristics—specific, measurable, attainable, relevant and time-
based (smart). it can also be divided into short, mid and long-term goals. For instance, after obtaining a
tenure position at a university, maximizing your Roth IRA every year after obtaining a tenure position at
a university in order to have a good retirement would be a good example of a long-term goal. On the
other hand, a short-term goal could be to save 5% of your income every month during a year to buy a
high-speed computer. having a well-developed goal description written down makes it much easier to
put into action.
Finally, it is very important to put the plan in action. that is to say, you must act in order to achieve your
goals. without a doubt you should understand how all your capital is spent and invested; that means,
understanding the different kind of investments available and how to manage them, which is the key to
help you achieve your goals. More importantly, keeping track of your expenses during the week is a
necessary habit. without money left to invest, it is very difficult to reach your goals.
In summary, a well-developed financial plan can make your life more comfortable. Writing down your
cash flow, determining smart goals and putting the plan in action are necessary steps that must be
accomplished. While the steps to make a financial plan are simple, it is very challenging for some people
to turn them into a habit. Sometimes, a life change (a change in lifestyle) is necessary in order to achieve
your financial goals.