"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions

The investment advisor recommends investment in consolidated industries whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil because the use of heating oil will increase due to newly built houses and prediction of weather forecasters that long term below-normal temperatures will sustain for several years. However, there are several weak assumptions that the advisor make to confirm one’s conclusion.

First, the advisor should provide the data of previous years that shows the number of days which temperature was below normal. The advisor contends that the northeastern us region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures. although 90 days is quite a long term, there is no information whether the term is longer than the previous years. For example, if the days with below-normal temperature was 120 days at the second last heating season, it has actually decreased. if those pattern continues as the climate forecasters said, it would be worse. Without the information of previous data, the advisor could not assure the increased demand for heating oil.

Second, the advisor should provide the validity of climate forecasters who predict the weather pattern will continue for several years. There is no information about the climate forecasters, whether they are eminent or outnumbered the forecasters who predicted the opposite way. It could only 2 out of 100 who predicted the weather will successive or it was the forecasters who gets funding from the heating oil industries. If the forecasters that the advisor used as the reference was invalid, the statement that the heating oil use will increase won’t be seem true.

Also, the advisor should give the information of newly built houses. The reader does not know whether the newly built houses’ heating system is also run by oil. Thinking about the concern of global warming, the newly built houses may not use fossil fuels, instead they may use reusable energy such as solar energy. If the oil is not used by newly built houses, the use of heating oil will hardly increase, nullifying the advisor’s content.

Finally, the advisor should assure the relation between the consolidated industries and the northeastern us region. Although it would be true that its major business operations is at home heating oil, their major provision area could be not northeastern us, it could be some where else such as northwestern us where the weather is becoming warmer every year. If the consolidated industries does not supply their products to the northeastern us, investing to the company won’t be a good idea.

In conclusion, the advisor should give more details about cold days of the previous years, validity of climate forecasters, newly built houses’ heating systems and the region that the company supply, or the statement will be un warranted.