Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Every day, people are leaving comments on other person’s post, news article, published research paper written by respected psychologist and new album made by a band. Literally, people are making their personal judgments on everything stepping aside either it is healthy feedback or just a crucial verbal attack. The statement is contending that only the expert of the field could make a critical judgment of the work. I agree that the judgment from the expert is quite critical but it doesn’t mean the comments of non expert is meaningless or has less value.

The proponents of the argument would say from the word “critical”, it means the judgment should make people convince and understand the work, not just at ostensible area, but also in deeper area. Only the master of the field could do this job. It seems true when the judgment of the work needs profound knowledge and acute insight. For example, when the candidates of the science Nobel prize are announced, we can always find out that we have never heard of the names of the candidates. Sometimes, we couldn’t understand a single thing about what they’ve done and how they earned such prize. However, we could trust that those candidates’ achievements are plausible because experts of the field agree and explain why they should get such an honorable prize, how their achievements affected our lives or extended the boundary of knowledge of humanity.

However, not all fields need such knowledge and insights. Fields that are related to mass media such as POP music or movies, on the other hand, is quite different from the field that was mentioned above. Such field which are mainly directly aimed to normal people is estimated by how many people like or dislike it. Because the main evaluation point of the field is popularity, the critical judgment of the field would be made by the audience, not by the expert. It is true that there are critics who wrote quotes and comments about how the movie was good or why the music should be blamed, it doesn’t mean the movie or the music should be unpopular. The exemplar would be the Caribbean’s Pirate series. As the series go on, the critics scarcely commented the storyline is too messy. However, the people still love to watch Jonny Depp’s acting Jack Sparrow, leaving “critical” judgment that series would leave its mark on the history of movie.

In conclusion, I recommend adjusting the statement from “any given field” to “most fields” as some fields which are mostly related with mass media has subtle different aspect of critical judgment.