Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

One of the most important issue that will occur in 2020 will be electing the next us president. some candidates estimate and predict the most favorable policy and some candidates establish the best policy for the nation based on robust, lucid faith. I have no idea who is going to be the next president, but I the latter should be the leader of us. In same logic, I support the statement that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Opponents argue that the political leaders must follow the public opinion because they are the representative of people. True, people voted on them based on their party and their promised policy. it is their responsibility to listen and follow what the lay people require. however, what if some supporter’s mind change after the political leader got elected? For insistance, all of supporters had jobs before the election but half of them get fired after the election. before the election, advocates totally agreed to give additional incentives to the working people. after the election, the argument arouses that the incentives should not be given. Does the leader have to give incentives to the half of the remaining working people, considering the proportion of policy’s supporters? The effective leader with faith will make a new policy, making both side satisfied.Yielding to the pubilc opinion despite of better ways is not the path of effective leader.

On the other hand, when the leader sticks to reasonable doctrine when making policy, the policy could be estimated on objective perspective. when the advocates and the opponents ask why the policy established, the leader could give long and precise explanation rather than simple answer-“because the citizen want it.” after the explanation, both sides will leave opinions-positive or negative- and based on the opinions and debates, the policy may develop in a better way. The progress of compromise could be seen as a waste of time. however it encourages each other to understand the other side and eventually leaves the product that everyone agrees.

Considering the unpredictability of the public opinion and objective observation of the policy, the most essential ability is to be based on robust faith.