Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Every day, people are leaving comments on other person’s post, news acticle, published research paper written by respected psychologist and new album made by a band. Literally, people make judgments on everything. The statement is contending that only the expert of the field could make a critical judgment of the work. I agree that the judgment from the expert is quite critical but it doesn’t mean the comments of non expert is meaningless or has less value.

The proponents of the argument would say from the word “critical”, it means the judgment should make people convince and understand the work, not just at ostensible area, but also in deeper area. Only the master of the field could do this job. it is quite true when the judgment of the field needs profound knowledge and acute insight. For example, when the candidates of the science Nobel prize are announced, we can always find out that we have never heard of the names of the candidates. However, we could trust that those candidates’ achievements are plausable because experts of the field agree and explain why they should get such an honorable prize, how their achievements affected our lives or extanded the boundary of knowledge of humanity.

However, not all fields need such knowledge and insights. Fields such as POP musics or movies, on the other hand, is quite different from the field that was mentioned above. Such field which are mainly directly aimed to normal people is estimated by how much people like or dislike it. Because the main evulation point of the field that are related with mass media is popularity, the critical judgment of the field would be made by the audience, not by the expert. It is true that there are critics who wrote quotes and comments about how the movie was good or why the music should be blamed, it doesn’t mean the movie or the music should be unpopular. The exemplar would be the Caribean’s Pirate series. As the series go on, the critics scarcely commented the storyline is too messy. However, the people still love to watch Jonny Depp’s acting Jack Sparrow, leaving “critical” judgment that series would leave its mark on the history of movie.

In conclusion, I recommend to adjust the statement from “any given field” to “most fields” as some fields which are mostly related with mass media has subtle different aspect of critical judgment.