Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

The statement contends that bringing justice should interchangeable with conditions, periods and locations. When the convicted moved its time and space into different status, the law should be consider those changed situation. However, it is difficult to agree the statement because if the law varies because of situations, times and places, it will harming the law itself which should be rigid as the protector of the justice. There could be some exceptions on some specific situation, but it does not mean laws should be flexible.

Laws should be stubborn and rigid because it is basis of credibility toward society. As citizens circumscribe their own rights and do the duty which is given from the society, they are expecting the society would not go to chaos and sustain with power. If the society want to show its citizens that oneself is reliable, it should show that the society is well structured and have adequate security, preventing anything which will disturb the citizens’ well-being. To do it, the society should prove that their bases of those well-being which are laws are unchangeable and they will be stand still. If the law itself is shaky and unstable, the citizens would not show their credit to their society.

The proponents of the statement would refute there are several situations that the law should be flexible. Without considering the backgrounds and sentencing only from the result, the world would be lack of humanism and become such a cruel world. If the normal businessman and the beggar who lost one’s job years ago and was starving each steals a single bread and each get a same verdict, it would be unfair because the beggar would be more critical to the verdict despite of same crime.

It is true that there are several cases which make one’s heart so cold and melancholy. In those cases, it would be a better to decrease the beggar’s fine considering the background and encourage the beggar to have a job. However, these exceptional examples does not mean that the flexibility of laws should be allowed. These are possible on relatively trivial cases, when there are no bad influence or even giving better result to individual by mitigating the verdict. If the cases become enormous and depressing, the law should be as inflexible as possible. If the CEO of the company tricked numerous people giving huge damage, no matter what reason, even if it was for the enhancement of the nation overall, it should be punished heavily.