Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement claims that colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country. Although there are benefits when the students study abroad, forcing students to study in a foreign country is neither the best way for students to enhance their abilities nor providing the best environment for students to concentrate on what the students want to do.

Studying abroad does help students by stretching their experience and learning subtly different specific majors that was not taught in one’s own university. It is impossible for a single university to contain all kinds of teaching methods and experience, it would be even essential if the students want more information. One of my colleagues spent one semester at Munch university in Germany. By taking courses from there, she found that the German mechanics is focused on slightly different thing compare to Korean mechanics. Also, during the vacation, she traveled throughout Europe which was her first experience traveling so many places for such a long time. She sometimes misses that moment.

However, spending one’s time in foreign country means less time spent in one’s university, so the student need to spend more time for the sake of one’s speciality. To get a degree from the university, the one should follow a certain curriculum that the university guided. There are different curriculums on each universities and studying abroad won’t match with one’s own university’s curriculum. The friend of mine which I mentioned previously should be graduating this year, but she could not graduated yet because she did not fulfill her graduate credits. Not only her, many students who decided to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country expect that one’s graduation year will prolong at least a year, maybe longer.

Also, when we study abroad, we should not only take the lecture that would not exactly match with one’s major but also be adapted to the culture of the foreign which is not the best environment to study. The purpose of colleges and universities is to educate students and one of their duty is to provide efficient and comfortable environments for students to study. If they forces students to go abroad, each students should give extra efforts to get used to the nation’s food, weather, habitants and this will be trespassing the students’ right - focusing on learning.