Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton. According to the Leeville Chamber of Commerce, these facts can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The writer contends that living in a small town promotes better health and greater longevity than living in a big city. The writer proclaims that one’s statement is reasonable because of fewer days of sickness, higher percentage of physicians and higher average age of small town. however, there are some logical fallacies that the writer didn’t examine profoundly.

The writer used the statistics of comparing the small town of Leeville and the nearby large city of Masonton to confirm one’s statement. however, there is no reasonable data that Leeville or Masonton is the representative of the small town or the big city. also, it is not informed whether the life of Leeville is relaxed or the life of Masonton is hectic. To strengthen the statement, the writer should provide sufficient amount of data for a group of small towns which living is peaceful and a group of big cities which living is busy.

The writer concluded that living in a small town is more healthy because people staying at Leeville get fewer days of sickness and less percentage of physicians. however, the writer neglected the possibility that different kind of diseases are occurring in each cities. For instance, If citizens in Masonton usually catch a cold, which could be easily observed and the citizens in leeville have a unique disease which is difficult to identify and die quickly after the symptom of the disease occurs, living in Leeville won’t mean promoting better health. To use the data for the support of the conclusion, the writer should examine what kind of diseases that each city’s people get into and check its severeness.

The writer also concluded that living in a small town could provide greater longevity because the average age of the Leeville is higher than Masonton. however, the writer neglect the possibility of immigrants that moved to Leeville or Masonton. The reason why the average age of Leeville is higher could be the elder immigrating to Leeville. also, the average age of Masonton could be lower because the main industry of Masonton is focused on certain range of age such as start-ups. To make the statement unwarranted, the statistics should provide not just the average age of the whole city, but the average of citizens who lived in the city for decades, who are used to hectic or relaxed pace of life.

In conclusion, the writer should provide more scrutinized statistics to make one’s statement more valid.