The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

The author of the letter is contending that an individual’s levels of stimulation varies as the birth orders differ. also, the author is specifically mentioning that the firstborn child might has higher level of stimulation. Although the argument seems quite sounding, there are several misconstrues analyzing the conclusion from the results.

first, it is unsure that the amount of rhesus monkeys which is eighteen is appropriate amount to make such an inductive conclusion. The research should have given more attention on how many groups of brother and sister monkeys are participating at the experiment, not the number of the monkeys itself. If there are nine groups of siblings which participated on the experiment, it could be told that the conclusion is quite meaningful. however, giving an extreme example when all eighteen monkeys are siblings, the the word inductive could not make any sense.

second, there are no mention of which group the first born human is compared with. At the letter, it is written as “firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels...”. The problem is there is no clue that the firstborn humans’ hormone level is high compare to whom. The corresponding group could be the second or third born humans, but it may also be firstborn infant monkeys.

Lastly, there are no direct relation between the first-time mother monkeys’ higher levels of cortisol and the effects of birth order on an individual’s levels of stimulation. The higher hormone status could have affected an infant when the infant was inside to mother’s womb. however, the letter didn’t mention about the possibility or certainty about the relation. also, the reason why the level of cortisol is higher when the first-time pregnancy occurs could be just because the mother monkey got used to the activity pregnancy.

To sum up, I think the letter shows weak inductive conclusion because they didn’t mention many groups of monkeys was used in the research. also, there are no specific corresponding comparison group to first-born humans. Finally, it is difficult to find the relation of hormone level between mother and her son.