In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument concludes that since the last survey conducted by the University of Milan reported a different result from the first one, then it must be the case that citizens have not revealed their preferences during the first interview. However, the argument manipulates facts and conveys a distorted view of the situation, in addition it fails to mention several factors on which the conclusion should be evaluated. Hence, the argument is flaw and unconvincing.

The first implicit assumption which has been made by the argument is that the pool of subjects of the two surveys has been the same. Nonetheless, the argument does not mention any information about the subject pool. Indeed, it could be the case that those who have participated in the first survey were different people of the second study. In this case, difference in preferences are not due to a misrepresentation but maybe they are just due to the fact that different people have actually different reading habits. Moreover, the second unstated assumption on which the argument relies is that the two surveys have been conducted with a short time difference between them which justifies the conclusion. In fact, if the surveys would have been conducted with the same people and with a short time period between them, then the conclusion would have been much more cogent. However, if the first survey has been done decades before the second one, the different results can be explained by a shift in preferences which has occurred over time.

Additionally, the argument readily assumes the equivalence between the books that people checked out at a public library and those that people actually pay for at the book store. This equivalence is not necessarily true. Indeed, it could be the case that people prefer to borrow from the public library mystery novels and, at the same time,to buy literary classics at the bookstore. In different words, the argument assumes that the consumption habit of people does not change when the good which is purchased is free: this is unlikely true. The opposite is more common. Even if we assume that the subjects interviewed have been the same the two times, it might be that they do not want to spend money for buying mystery novels, but they are ready to do so for literary classics. Finally, the argument does not mention the entity of the two surveys. It does not mention the percentage of people out of the first study who preferred literary classics and it did not do so neither for the second study. This could have been extremely helpful in order to compare the two results and in order to assess how strong were the two results obtained.

In conclusion, the argument would have been more cogent if it has stated the above-mentioned evidences. In order to assess the validity of a conclusion it is necessary to know all the relevant facts. Hence, the argument is still open to debate