The following appeared in the editorial column of the Fern County Gazette newspaper:

"The Fern County Council made the right decision when it unanimously voted to convert the Northside branch of the county library system into a computer-skills training facility for public use. The converted facility will fill what is certain, based on national trends, to be a growing need among county residents for training in computer skills. And since our library system boasts more volumes per resident than any other system in the state, the remaining branches will adequately serve the future needs of Fern County residents."

Discuss what evidence you would need to properly evaluate the argument, and explain how that evidence might strengthen or weaken the argument.

Author of the editorial column of the Fern County Gazette newspaper suggested that the idea of converting the Northside of the Fern County Library system to the computer training center for public use is a good idea.

Computer skills are important as per the trends but there is no proof that these trends are the current trends. So, if the trends are older trends then converting the facility to the training center and wasting the huge library area for the same is not a good idea. Also, the computer is a highly fast-evolving technology. Therefore the training facilities must be updated very frequently. For that, the Council must have the budget. This not taken into consideration.

Moreover, in the editorial, it is stated that the rest of the library is adequate to fulfill the needs of the residents. Even though the system has a very large volume per resident, the need for the books or printed materials will surely increase. The new materials will also need some space in the library. This will not be possible if one side of the library is converted into the training facility and there is no way to expand the library, as the expansion of the library is not mentioned anywhere in the column.

Library space is also have limited space for the seating arrangement. This is also not taken into consideration. As the population of the county will surely increase day-by-day, the need for library books will surely increase and the number of people visiting the library will increase. This will cause the place to be teemed with readers but with fewer seats for the readers.

If we have got more evidence about the reason and some statistical data as explained in the subsequent paragraphs we could have said that the idea indeed a 'right' idea.