The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The study of history leads us to the betterment of the current society. History shows people the problem they had in the past and the solution to that problem if the problem has been solved. If not solved, the study of those problems gives people the direction where the current status of the solution is leading. Most importantly, history gives the ways and/or methodologies that did not solve the problems and which ways the problem solved. The study of these leads to significantly faster and moving people towards the betterment of society.

History gives us the way of life humans had in the past and the improvement they have done to reach what they are and what they have today. If the study of history dispels from the fact the people are living differently today then that is not an appropriate study of history. From the study of history, it has been observed that humans' basic needs have not yet changed from the beginning. Those are still the same - food, clothes and shelter. We have just improved the modes of getting these basic needs. Improvements lead people to the need for the significant development we are seeing today.

More on that, in studies it has been discovered that the people who lived long ago were not so different from today. The people always looked at the past where they made the same error and make a decision that should not lead them on the same result. For example, when Thomas Edison was working on the electric resistance of the metal, he found some incredible properties of some metals. He found that not all metals have the same resistance for electricity. While doing so, he had found that when a specific amount of electricity flows through the metal, it illuminates. This helps him in the invention of the Bulbs people use today. While studying the metals, he found that some metal can not be used for the Bulbs and the study of metal helped him concluding it. People have a tendency to learn from mistakes and they have a tendency to improve on every iteration, the study of history proves it.

Hence, the main point of studying history is not to dispel the illusion of the people but to look at the mistakes those made in the past and improvement that had been done to get to what people are today. People are still the same people who lived in an earlier time but now with better technology and faster development.