People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reason or examples to support your answer.

Why people attend university, or college? While some critics might argue that going to university is a culture these days, so that people attend university classes to save this culture of modernity. However, in my perspective, people attend university - or the college - to make them competitive in this dynamic and increasingly sophisticated world market.

To begin with, those critics who would argue that people study university as a modern culture might give the example of least developed states - including Nepal. They strive to shore up their idea by mentioning that in Nepal going to university is like a culture where people complete their masters although they are aware that even after accomplishing masters they are going to get the job of high school level qualification, if they are really fortunate; majority of masters degree holders go to Gulf country, or to Korea, to work on minimum wage. These critics, however, are fail to account the vital aspect of this argument: educated, let's say masters completed, go for a better and demanding job receiving relatively higher wage in these countries, for of their acquired skills and the knowledge. They are skilled and educated, so that they get relatively higher wage (although it is still lower vis-à-vis international standard).

Now, consider the another side of the coin: people attend university - or the college - to make them competitive in this dynamic world. University is the place where we can learn, gain skill and transmute ourself into more sophisticated man-power who are easily absorbed in the market. Take myself as an example. During my bachelors in forestry, I happened to get various technical skills related to forestry. Owing to those skills, an INGO readily accepted me as its officer after accomplishing my bachelors. I was fortunate to have this opportunity because I have the set of skills generally such I/NGO look for and, of course, these skills are the result why I attended university.

Likewise, university is the place where we can meet like-minded people - which helps to refine our belief and make it more mature. In such groups, continuous discussion helps to perfect the communication skills as well. In similar manner, in college we can find opposite-minded people too. Discussing with them minister us to identify pros-and-cons of both: oneself and the opponent. These perpetuate competition supplies stimulus to learn more, gain more skills and prepare self to be better then others.

Therefore, at the end of the day, it is clear that people attend university, or college, in order to invigorate themselves with different worldly skills - like acquiring new experiences, career preparation, increase knowledge. The example and the argument made above are enough to prop up the position I adhere.