Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Do the educational institutes have responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing field of study in which they are unlikely to succeed? While many critics might agree that, yes, educational institutes should have this right and responsibility, but this is an unjustified belief based on limited knowledge. As far as I am concerned, I believe that educational institutes should encourage students to explore their full capabilities and promote them in accomplishing what they they choose to study.

To begin with, educational institutes have huge resources and pool of knowledge which can be used to shape the better future of students. Therefore, such institutes should encourage students to follow their dream in spite of difficulties and frustration they generally come up with. APJ Abdul Kalam, the 11th president of Republic of India, had once rightly said that the quality of the best teacher is that he encourages his students to explore their capabilities; I accede to his opinion. He said so because once he was harshly berated by his professor that he will never be able to study physics; however, he later took courage to prove his worth and became the founding father of Indian missile program and civilian space program. Hence, his great life teach us that for teachers it is better to encourage their students rather than dissuading them.

Furthermore, there are several counterproductive effects of dissuading students: they became indolent and stop to be creative. Take my brother, for instance. He was a good athlete and used to get several awards each month in different athletic contests - like high jump, long jump, running and so forth. However, in School Leaving Certificate (SLC) level, he was unable to pass; he failed for three consecutive years. Therefore, the teachers dissuaded him and the result is he dropped formal education and is unemployment till today. This could have avoided and he could have passed on fourth year if he was encouraged instead, I guess.

Finally, encouraging helps even the dull students to perform his best. If we dissuade, instead of encouraging, we may lose genuine talents sometimes. Michale Jorden, for example, was rejected from his high school basketball team; the reason was he was too short to play basketball. The high-school team was to lose such a talent player; he took firm determination to show his worth and practiced hard, however. Later, he became the Olympic gold medalist , not once but twice, and turned himself into one of the most effective athlete in the marketing world. This example, also props up my belief that dissuading students is not a good tool to employ.

All in all, students should be encouraged by their professors to follow their dreams. Some globally renowned figures - like APJ Abdul Kalam and Michael Jorden - were once dissuaded by their masters; there were none to encourage them. The took courage from themselves, however, and turned themselves into the most reputable figures. Therefore, encouragement is far more effective and useful to promote students, rather than dissuading them from studying their field of interest.