Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Do the achievements of a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists perfectly indicates the well-being of majority of its public? While many critics might accede to the idea that the achievements of rulers, artists, or scientists perfectly mirrors the good life of its hoi pollio, it is everything but the final truth. As far as I am concerned, I believe these achievements reflects people's well-being to some extent; however, these acquisitions might not be able to reflect the prosperity of the whole nation. The correlation between achievements garnered by national heroes - rulers, artists, scientist - need case-by-case assay.

Those critics who would argue that the surest indicator of great nation is the piles of achievements amassed by its rulers, artists, and scientists might give the example of China. China won its first Olympic medal in 1984. In the Olympic of this year, China got 64 medals - including 28 gold - securing third position following USA and the Great Britain. In this period of 1984-2016, China has made its economic capacity of some 17 trillions to boot uplifting the life of millions of indigent Chinese people. Now, the critics might argue that example of China makes clear that athlete's achievements is the mirror of people's well-being, for athlete's achievements and the people's livelihood augmented together. However critics need to know that beside this tremendous change in China, nearly 200 million people are still under poverty line set by World Bank of $1.25 per day earning. This has not been represented by the athletes performance in the Olympics. How is it possible for Fu (Chinese swimmer) to represent the indigence of these 200 million people while swimming in the Rio De Janeiro? Similarly, in North Korea, some political sycophants - or political elites - might have a good life, yet the life of general public is like hell. Likewise, North Korean scientists have achieved many things in recent times: they know how to built sophisticated missiles. They don't know how to erase the pain of public, however.

Likewise, India is one of the fastest growing economy having economic volume of some 2 trillion. Indian players, in the summer Olympic of 2016, are garnering awards, scientists are discovering many innovative techniques, and the politicians are getting exposure in different national and international forums which don't represent the fact that India is also a country of one third of the poorest of the world. The images of those indigents, who don't have access to clean water and sufficient foods are not represented by the Castle of Sachin Tendulkar.

Now the crucial point to discuss is what are the things that represent the people's life and their well-being. Surely, access to education, clean water, health service at an affordable price and many other factors directly pertaining to the people's elementary needs perfectly mirrors the greatness of a nation; a hospital in each village of rural India reflects India's greatness rather than the big building of Amitab Bachhan (Popular Bollywood Star) in Mumbai.

Finally, at the end of the day, it is clear that the achievement of politicians, artist, or scientists is not enough to represent the greatness, or the general welfare of people, of a nation. Several other indicators - like sanitation, access to safe water, enough food, education, health service, and so forth - reflects the greatness of any state. The examples, and the robust arguments, presented above are to shore up my position.