GRE Issue:Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people

The author has presented quite compelling claims and provided a justifyable reason that support's the author's claim. However, I could not fully agree with the author, as his/her claim is extreme and could be flawed easily. A nation's greatness depends upon various factors such a public health facilities, economy, jobs, recreational activities, technological advancements, etc. In order, to evaluate that the nation is great or not one should have considered many factors apart from politics, arts and science . It would have been good, If the author should have considered these factors before making such an extreme claim.

Humans basic needs come first, there is a saying in Hindi language 'Roti, Kapda, Makan' which means Food, Cloths and House to live. These are quite basic needs of human for a decent life. If government is successful enough to fulfill these basic need of a human, then it might play an important role in nation's happiness. Here there is no need of some extraordinary efforts from any field like nation's ruler , artists or scientists. If these basic need would not be fulfilled by the ruler or the govenment than even the country might have contributed in research like discovery of human life on another plant then people could not remain happy for a long time.

Moreover, after basic needs there are someother needs for every human to sustain his/her life and make him/her happy. Every citizen of a country demands medical assistance , jobs to sustain life soothly, education facilities, etc. These facilities are important for the wellfare and smooth flow of normal human's life. Without proper human medical facilities, nation could not remain happy, for instance : outbreak of plague in Europe caused by rats and due to this plague almost 1/3 of the Europe died, as a result most families lost thier loved onces and all lived in the sorrow. without jobs , nation's talent could not be able to reflect itself and youths would not be motivated and hence could take part in vandalizing the property , bantering , ogling etc.

While I agree that good rulers, artist or scientists could make a valuable contribution for the society/nation like providing a technique to grow crop in a large amount or prime minister like Narendra Modi, who could take various inteatives like Make in India, to grow employment but by mere few people and advancement could not help every single person of the nation and could not make it great until basic needs are not fullfilled.

In a nutshell, Authors reason is not merely enough to support his extreme claim about the surest indicator of great nation , as great nation could not become great until basic needs and happiness of their people are not met. I would suggest the author to consider author factors in order to make his/her reason more sound for the given claim.