GRE Issue:Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people

The author's claim that the well-being of the nation is completely represented by the well-being of it's populace is an interesting one because one could argue that the rest of the achievements follow by just keeping the populace happy. After all, artists and scientists come from masses and happy masses are more likely to turn out to be great achievers. But the nuance in this argument is that a well-contended populace has no reason to pursue science or arts as they are already happy. This argument directly relates to the universal basic income debate and hence a very interesting one.

If we look at the history we see countless examples of arts, architecture and science evolving in tandeem witht the prosperity of populace. We can look at Renaissance Era, Holy Roman Period, Ashoka Dynasty in India etc. All these examples lend credibility to the claim of the argument as theu were respective Golden ages for both people and science. This shows a striking correlation between happiness and achievements. Most Nobel Prize winners in the current times have been coming from the United States and Europe which are amongst the most developed parts of the world where populace is relatively happier as compared to say Africa or India.

But it can also happen that a country is pursuing science and technology for the glory of it while it's populace suffers. For example we can look at what space race has to done to Soviet Union. Or how North Korean people are suffering because of their dictator's pursuit of glory. Here, the flaw on the part of the rulers is to see the success through a singular lens of scienitific knowledge or military prowness. Similar examples from history show how singular pursuit of arts and religion had made kingdoms in India weak. So there is a fine balance to be struck.

Also there are numerous examples where people innovate out of necessity and many a great magnum opus have come from desperate times. For example Ramanujan, Martin Lutherking, Gandhi, Benjamin Frankim, Nikolas Tesla have all come from poor backgrounds and it is precisely their background that has pushed them to pursue their talents as a way out of their penury. After all the aphorism, "Necessity is the mother of all inventions", is grounded on evidence.

In conclusion, the sucess of a nation is an inter-play of various factors and attributing it solely to either the well-being of populace or to the scientific discoveries is fallacious as one cannot live without the other.