Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.Reason: The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or

Knowledge about past can help us make an evidence based assumption on the outcome of our decision. The same decision could have been made earlier by many people over the centuries and this gives us a solid ground to prognosticate the outcome. So I believe that knowing the past will never hurt the decision making process.

On a personal level, if we know that we've made a mistake earlier such as choosing the wrong partner, choosing to procrastinate on important occasions, not being faithful to partners etc., we can avoid making such a mistake with the knowledge of the past. In the absence of such knowledge, say through a memory loss, we can end up making the same mistakes over and over.

Secondly, other's mistakes are an important place to ground our decisions on as we need not make the same mistakes again. This is how science has evolved through the centuries. A scientist after repeated failures makes a discovery and documents the discovery process and the experiments carried out in support of the discovery. Based on this, a next generation scientist will learn what works and what doesn't and proceeds from there. This will help us not to re-discover the wheel again, so to say. At the personal level as well, it is easy to see how learning from other's mistakes can help us avoid getting into the same trouble as they do. For example, if we've seen a marriage broken apart due to an alcoholic father, we would realize that alcoholism is bad without having to go through the arduous experience.

One loop hole in following the past blindly is that we can end up being dogmatic and many principles codified in past can become outdated now. For example, some religious principles which are against gay marriage, which allow us to keep slaves are anachronic. So we should not to be too rigid about absolutely following the past as the future will become monotonous and dry.

In conclusion, history tends to repeat itself, so it is always better we are equipped with knowledge from past and ground our decisions on them. But we should not be copying our decisions verbatim but make a reasonable, well-informed choice which is relevant to the current situation. It is Baye's Theorem all over again where we update our priors given evidence and reach a posterior that is based on both evidence and priors.