"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space

The argument presented in the essay is that Humana University's online program is going to be successful both financially and academically given that a similar program is successful in a nearby Omni University. Although the argument is presented as if success is imminent in the said online transformation, the claim can look dubious without further evidence.

Firstly, the author assumes that Omni University is successful in it's online pursuit. But the parameters of success are vaguely defined. The evidence presented is that online enrollement has increased while the expenditure on physical infracstructure is reduced. However, the capital for setting up the online infrastructure is unspecified putting the financial success of Omni Univesity in question. It could very well be the case that transferring all the courses onto the internet based progarmme required a huge investment which left Omni University with no funds for dormitories and classrooms. Such a case could be considered a financial failure rather than a success and a detailed assessment of Omni's financial strategy is needed because Humana University already dealing with a big budget problem.

Secondly, the only similarity presented between Humana University and Omni University is that they are present in the same locality. But they could very well be dealing with different fields of study. One could be a fine arts university while other could be a robotics based institute. In one case, it could be very amenable to shifting online while the other would require extensive spending further depleting the university funds. But a strong conclusion is made that since such a program is already successful in Omni university it is bound to be successful in Humana. Also another conclusion is made about increase in enrollment rates would follow because it took place in Omni. The driving force for falling enrollment in Humana could be structural reasons such as fall in demand for the courses taught by Humana. Or lack of quality teachers and analogously the increase in Omni's enrollment could be because of better teaching standards and more takers for the respective subjects. If this is indeed the case, moving Humana's courses online would be a futile exercise.

Thirdly, the finacial viability of the whole project is completely ignored. Omni University could be sitting on huge cash reserves and could be offering free promo courses resulting in a huge jump in students enrolled. But it is established that Humana's pecuniary situation is tight. Also, the competition on the online space is completely ignored. On the internet, Humana University will have to compete many established players such as Coursera by Stanford and MIT OpenX since it is an open platform for everyone. In contrast, Omni could be the first to offer it's specializations online.

In conclusion, it is not clear whether Omni university is actually successful in its endeavour. Further an analogy is drawn with Omni based on just the locality. Also, the financial viability of the whole project as well as the supply demand situation of this whole project is not discussed. Consequently, it would be imprudent to assume this would result in a success without a a thorough analysis and further evidence on the above mentioned issues.