In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should be required to step down after five years.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing a

The policy suggested by the author to make the term of every position of power be five years is a fairly complex one with inter-play of many factors both supporting and opposing the policy. But I believe making such a hard rule would be counter-productive and we should think of a middle ground that balances the advantages of experience with the disadvantages of dictatorship.

It is well-known that power corrupts and there are countless examples in history where the most benevolent dictator has been corrupted by the power that comes along with it. Most people who enter politics initially have noble ideas such as to serve the society, improve the lives of people etc. but to grab the power and to maintain it they end up becoming bad actors. Also, the power bestowed onto a politician is immense in that they would be able to affect every aspect of our lives through legislations that they make. Their actions have a bearing on who get's to go to school, how much money goes to health care, how the country is going to defend itself etc. As they are representing each one of us, it is imperative in a democracy that each one of us given the choice to the person representing us and further the choice needs to be presented often based on their performance. So I believe the current system in the democratic world serves the purpose well enough where a politician is required to step down after their short term.

When it comes private businesses, the effect the corporate bosses have on the society although not small is not as big as a politician's role. Further, the goal of a corporation is not to serve the society but to serve itself and it's members and create some value in their pursuit of wealth. This is how capitalism works and it has uplifted the lives of many people for the last three centuries. To bring in a legislation enforcing a five year term into a corporation would be meddling into their affairs and how they run their business. It would take us more towards the communist route where the Government tells what to do and the motivation for the corporates to pursue more wealth would be limited by their five year capacity. This will directly affect their tenacity and determination as they realize their short term.

Further in a field such as education, a school principal would have already gained immense knowledge of how to run the school and all the intricacies. This is true for any other field as well where the person in power would have great experience running the business.

If we are concerned about persistence of old ideas by not stopping their tenure in time, a per industry tenure would be more valuable than a vanilla five year tenure throughout. For example, a school principal could get a 15 year tenure, a CEO a 10 year tenure etc. This would give them enough time to make a meaningful impact. And if we want to mitigate corruption we can have laws making it a crime and an effective implementation would allow both the objectives to be met.

In conclusion, a five year limit in every field is not the way to go if we want to limit corruption or if we want to allow new ideas to flourish. It is too short a time to make an impact. Even if we accept that a term limit could help, a hard vanilla five year rule may not be the way to go when we can have different rules for different industries. But I do agree that the tenure of a politician should be absolutely limited as they are representing us and it gives us the time to change our opinions based on the prevailing circumstances. So the middle ground I would suggest is to have a short term for politicians and effective laws to prevent misuse of power in any other industry.