The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company."Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appli

In this passage, the author argues that construction of new electric plants is no longer necessary building on the premise that home onwers would like to conserve energy and that new technology for home insulation requires less electricity. Also the author suppliments this argument saying the currently operating three plants have served them well and hence any further development is unwarranted. However, the line of reasoning presented by the author is riddled with numerous stated and unstated assumptions.

Firstly, the author states that home owners are starting to become enthusiastic about conserving energy. But the unstated assumption here is that this trend is bound to continue and that the number of such people is bound to increase. This is a strong assumption if we count only the facts stated in the argument which merely makes a passing comment and doesn't provide any statistics. Also it is unstated the cost that these home-owners are willing to pay to conserve energy. Because one can be enthusiastic about many things but ardent supporters would be necessary to bring about a change of thought. Anyway, if this argument fails, then one major pillar on which this argument rests would break down.

Secondly, even if we assume that homeowners want to conserve energy, we do not know whether the old plants are more energy efficient or the new plant could be much more energy efficient. For example, the old power plants could be thermal ones using coal or it could be a one hundred year old one which is wasting gallons of water to produce a small quantity of electricity. We do not know the efficiency at which the current plants are operating and the author implicitly assumes that a new plant would be detrimental from an energy stand-point. This may not really be the case and one could decommission the old ones and replace by a brand new nuclear one which is much more energy efficient.

Thirdly, author considers only the home appliances in assessing the demand for electricity. This could turn out to be a faulty one because the locality could contain a major industrial complex which is taking in most of electricity and is unaffected by the technologically improved home equipmennt. Also the author makes a nuanced statement that the demand for electricity may demand slightly while making a big claim on twice effcient home appliances. So the implicit assumption is demand is going to increase elsewhere and that would almost tantamount to the reduction in home appliance efficiency. Consequently, if major demand for electricity is from a different source there would actually be an increase in demand making construction of new plant pertinent.

Fourthly, the author assumes that the only use of new plant is to serve the particular community which is being served by existing three plants. But, as already stated the current ones could be old, or it would make a huge economic impact by constructing a new plant and selling electricity to other communities because maybe this locality is near a feasible site for a hydo-electric plant. So if this assumption breaks down and even if all other assumptions are true, it would still be prudent to construct the plant.

In conclusion, the author's argument against construction of new power plants is rife with holes and depends on validity of multiple uncorrelated assumptions. And if any of them fails, the whole argument falls apart.