The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"A recent national survey found that the majority of workers with access to the Internet at work had used company computers for personal or recreational activities, such as banking or playing games. In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Using electronic monitoring software is the best way to reduce the number of hours Climpson employees spend on personal or recreational activities. We predict that installing software to monitor employees' Internet use will allow us to prevent employees from wasting time, thereby increasing productivity and improving overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries recommends for the installation of electronic monitoring software to increase the productivity of staffs. He strived to shore up his argument by mentioning that staffs played games, and did banking activities on the official computer. However, he has failed to provide many hard facts which really fortifies his argument; due to this reason, his assumption, and finally derived conclusion are utterly skeptical.

First of all, the Vice President (VP) makes this recommendation based on the result of a national survey; however, in the argument, there is no information about the survey and its methodology. Without information about questionnaire, it is really challenging to make any adjudication: the questionnaire, for example, might have asked the employees directly "for how long do they use official computers for their personal purposes?' And there might have options, for the question, ascending from three hours to eight hours. In this case, with no surprise, employees might have opted three hours - which is the lowest available to select. In such context, the premises derived from survey would be misleading, which is no wonder. Clearly, the VP should provide answers of questions like, " what were the detailed contents of the questionnaire?".

Similarly, the claim made by VP explicitly mentions that employees used the computers for their personal and recreational causes. Nevertheless, he doesn't mention that for how long do the employees engage in such activities. In addition, on account for the meager work pressure of company, the employees might have chosen to pass their office hours by doing their personal - and of course recreational too, works. Thus, "how the employees get free time to use their computers for above mentioned works?" is the another question of which he need to supply the answer, if he really want to substantiate his argument.

Finally and probably most importantly, the VP of the company unfairly assumes that installation of electronic monitoring software is the panacea to improve the productivity of staffs at the working station. There are several methods to enhance the creativity of the staffs - like providing bonus, taking them for a study tour and so forth. However, VP is silent regarding why he opted installation of electronic monitoring software as the best and avoided the possibility of other stimulus. Therefore, in order to prop up his argument, the VP should answer to the question of " why he regards installation of electronic monitoring software as the cure-all?".

At the end of the day, the argument, made by the vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries, needs extra hard facts to consider it as reliable. He should not try to avoid concerns raised above for a robust argument regarding productivity enhancement of his company. However, at the present status of the argument, it is not beyond dispute, and likely to get no dice from the concerned high ranking officials who are going to scrutinize this proposal.