The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"A recent national survey found that the majority of workers with access to the Internet at work had used company computers for personal or recreational activities, such as banking or playing games. In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Using electronic monitoring software is the best way to reduce the number of hours Climpson employees spend on personal or recreational activities. We predict that installing software to monitor employees' Internet use will allow us to prevent employees from wasting time, thereby increasing productivity and improving overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the recommendation sent by vice president to the company's

president, the author recommends that , to increase productivity of the employee and profit, internet monitoring software must be installed in the company. The claim of the vice president is based on premise: the productivity hampered by employee's involvement on recreational activities. However, before this conclusion is properly evaluated, the author must provide answer to following three questions.

Firstly, will the employee of the industry find other ways to pass time? In other words, is there any evidence that the employee will not find out other recreational activities that may hamper their productivity? The vice president wrongly assumes that employee in the firm will not squander their office time and concentrate solely on their prescribed routine as soon as their internet is monitored. However, it may not be true. May be they pass their time gossiping and involve in nonsensical talks about the show they watched. For all we know, they may have offline games in their computer. Perhaps, they use internet in their mobile totally disregarding their work. If the aforementioned scenario is true, then the conclusion and suggestion of banning the internet will be superfluous.

Secondly, will the purposed monitoring on internet uses dissuade the employee? Is there any evidence that the censoring internet use completely will not demoralize the employee? The author speciously assumes this will not take place. However, this may not be the case. Perhaps, they loose confidence in their work and their productivity will be even less than previously unrestricted environment. Perhaps, they used to complete their work fast and involve in non-productive activities in free time only. If any of these have merit, then original argument will not hold water.

Finally, even if the vice president is able to answer above two questions with compelling justification and evidence, will the cost of installing new monitoring system outweigh the profit generated by increase in employee's productivity? The author fallaciously assumes that the profit will easily exceed the cost of installation. May be the system is very sophisticated and cost of it is very expensive for the company. It is possible that the system is not invented yet. If above is true, then the argument is seriously flawed.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is severely flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. However, if the author is able to provide answers to these three questions( probably in terms of systematic research) then evaluation of the suggestion of vice

president is possible.